Welcome TO GOING AN EXTRA MILE

August 7, 2008

Corporate Politics in Perspective

Filed under: Uncategorized — cutevina @ 7:24 pm

I always thought that if you are good to someone, they return the niceties but after attending this workshop, I realized that we cannot remain ignorant of the world. The world is fraught with competitive work environments, subjective performance standards, and unclear job definitions, win-lose organisational philosophy, people craving for power, Machiavellian tendencies of people, belief in external forces, hunger for acceptance, self-interest. We did a test on ‘How political are you?’ and I received a 3; meaning I am still unaware of the dangers of the business world. Hence I must learn to protect myself for the future, when I am going to work and even when expanding my social circle. I have learnt that firstly, I must recognise the power player in the organisation; the higher the position the person is, the more he/she is powerful. We must check if he/she will consult his/her team member for opinion who holds more authority. If the person has been promoted rapidly, he/she is a more powerful person. A person who is widely liked has a better chance of remaining powerful than one who is universally disliked. A powerful person has meals with people from all various avenues and people from different departments. With some examples above, I have learnt how to recognise a person’s power. I always thought that only position determines how powerful the person is.

Next, I have learnt that I will need to size up my boss. I will need to ask myself some questions before I can do things such as, ‘What mission is my boss trying to accomplish?’ (Help him to accomplish the most important task facing the company). ‘What practices of his subordinates usually irritate my boss?’ (Avoid doing that) ‘Does my boss accept compliments graciously?’ (Some boss love to receive compliments while some might not). ‘Who are your boss’s enemies?’ (Never befriend them) ‘What is the most vexing problem facing my boss?’(Try to find solution for it) ‘What does my boss regard as good performance?’(Focus on it once I found an answer to it) ‘What form of office politics does my boss practice?’ ‘Does my boss welcome conferring with subordinates?’ ‘What are the important personal facts about my boss?’ (Remember his/her birth date, favourite food, and hobbies) ‘What are my boss’s mood cycles?’ This segment is important, to me, in the future so that I can size up my boss. He/ she might be impressed by me and hence promote me.

Next what I have learnt is that I need to make my boss my ally. The way to do so is to cover your boss’s bloopers, respect your boss, help your boss to succeed and avoid upstaging him, share your accomplishments with your boss, take criticism cheerfully, and maintain frequent contact with your boss. In future, if I have done anything wrong, the boss is here to lend his support. Even now, in school, our boss would be the principal and I can apply the principles on him

Then, we gain our support from the powers-that-be by shining at meetings, appearing cool under pressure, talk confidently, show an interest in your firm and its product, display business manner and etiquette, get your hands dirty before the right audience (setting up  the AV equipment). This can be useful in the future when I first start out working to make a good impression.

I would also be able to gain support from co-workers too by being a team player, share credit and information, use appropriate compliments on things they closely identify with, avoid being despised and hated. I can apply this even now as I am the secretary of Temasek Polytechnic’s Dance Ensemble. I will try to gain support from the other main committee members especially the president so my work in the future will be more efficient. And next, I will gather my support from the sub-committee members and the dancers by soliciting their opinions before taking action, giving them recognition, listen to people’s problems and suggestions, be courteous and maintain old ties. “Never burn your bridges” says my new working perspective.

When I am faced with unfair political tactics, I should defend myself by confronting people with their political games, circulating my ideas, confront by-passers, and counteract any gossip-mongers. This happens even now when we are doing projects for school work, school events or dance. After attending this workshop, I have learnt how to deal with it, and will fight for my rights. This is so to ensure that no gossips taint my reputation and to remain an amiable friend. After this workshop I know that the right use of office politics would help to boost career and to smoothen the career path.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.