Welcome TO GOING AN EXTRA MILE

August 7, 2008

The Art of Corporate Entertainment

Filed under: Uncategorized — cutevina @ 7:20 pm

Firstly I have learnt that a business meal is not simply just a meal. The focus is not on the food but the business. Hence in future, when I go for business meals, I would focus more on the business than the food. I would only invite my client for business meal when I need to know my client better, and prospecting a new customer. Keep a present client happy, interview prospective employees, reward my employees if I am the boss, and provide an opportunity for an in-depth discussion away from office distractions. This is important as I might be invited or inviting people for a business meal as an employee or employer.

I have also learnt how I go about organising a business meal. Firstly would be the selection of restaurants, it shows how sincere you are in the business meal: a bad meal can affect the mood of the people you are inviting. I should not try a new restaurant because I do not know about the food and service there, I should stick to something safe which is something you have tried and it was good. I should stay away from places that emphasize fast service as their motto as it could compromise quality. I should go to a restaurant that you I am a regular of and I must consider the convenience for my guest in terms of location and dietary requirements.

I have also learnt about the invitation, which is important as it shows how important this meal means to me and how sincere I am. As a guest, I should not abuse this invitation too. When making reservations I should also know the precise number of people attending, so I know how to act if he/she is asking anyone else along. I have learnt about how to meet with people and the seating arrangement to be observed.

I have also learnt about the invitation, which is important as it shows how important this meal means to me and how sincere I am. As a guest, I should not abuse this invitation too. When making reservations I should also know the precise number of people attending, so I know how to act if he/she is asking anyone else along. I have learnt about how to meet with people and the seating arrangement to be observed.

 

I also learnt how to address the waiter, this is important as I might offend the waiter and it shows what kind of person I am. It’s simple: How can I expect great service on his part with bad attitude from me? Besides that, I have also learnt about drinks such as aperitifs and alcoholic drinks. In addition, I have learnt proper etiquette such as letting my guest order first, and learning how to deal with situations such as what if the guest is late.

 

I have also learnt how to handle utensils, and the common practice which is important as any fine dining requires proper etiquette. Also, I now know how to foot the bill and leave a tip. Lastly I have learnt that my meal should be an enjoyable experience and applying the appropriate business etiquette should not interfere with that experience. With practice, I can make the actual process more automatic and less intimidating, so I can concentrate on my conversation and the food.

Some food to avoid would be whole lobsters as if it is ordered, more time is spent on the food instead of the discussion. Food such as laksa or pasta would be messy, and it would be unsightly if the gravy stains one’s clothes.

 

It is better if this chapter is combined with Service Skills Methodology (SSM), which enables me to learn and get hands-on experience as well. In addition, it can be better if they have taught us on how to entertain our guest during a meal.

Besides all the dining etiquette, I have also learnt about social etiquette such as greeting, handshakes, introducing people, name cards, which I had learnt in previous chapter. I have also learnt about general etiquette such as opening doors, car etiquette, escalators and stairs, walking, bus, ‘Thank You’ etiquette, everyday etiquette, toilet etiquette, hand phone etiquette, umbrella etiquette, public place, gift etiquette. All these daily routines, but it is quite surprising that even simple things such as umbrella has its etiquette too and I am happy to be able to learn about it as it improves my mannerisms.

 

For the workshop, we are required to go to a fine dining restaurant to observe their service there. I am in the position of the guest. I have learnt that service begins when I stepped into Toptable till I left there. I should always address the waiter by their name to show respect to them. Even though we pay and they are paid, they are not our slaves, nor are we not their master. The plain but often ignored concept of gratitude is now brought to my attention and I know that I must be thankful to be happy. Everything in the restaurant affect my satisfaction including noise level emitted from neighbouring seated customers and I especially will be satisfied when the service provider showed me the value of ‘Empathy’ which is putting themselves in the shoe of a customers and think from the view of a customers. From there, they can take notice of very small details of each guest, which can then benefit both the service provider and the guests. From this workshop, I have learnt how to host a lunch too.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

